me and my shovel - my first pond

Reaction score
starting construction on my first pond to keep koi in! I've never done this type of work before and it hit me all of a sudden to do this. A co-worker of mine is a fish freak and has a few aquariums so a lot of the inspiration came from him. we got to talking about building a pond someday and it jus hit me that that's what i want to do. I've got my yard staked in the basic shape that i want and i anxiously want to start digging! I want to put in a waterfall pouring into 1ft of water going to 2ft and then dropping to about 4-5ft since i read that koi need about 4 ft of water (?) . I haven't exactly figured up how much water this will hold. ROUGH figuring for the deep end i came up with almost 4000 gallons! did not think it would be this much so i might make it a little smaller seeing as its my first pond. deep end is 12.5ft by 12.5ft. any input on this project will be much much much appreciated. anything to filter referrals, pump referrals, depth, even if you jus think the pond looks bad :bowdown: .feedback please!!! These are pictures of what i have staked out orange - shape white - waterfall black - depth change

View attachment 2777

View attachment 2778

View attachment 2779

Attachments

• pond1.jpg
    pond1.jpg
    107.3 KB · Views: 290
  • pond2.jpg
    pond2.jpg
    133.3 KB · Views: 282
  • pond3.jpg
    pond3.jpg
    129.8 KB · Views: 300
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hint: go 4' everywhere. Those steps just invite preditors and if you have a bottom drain it would be in the deep end and no benefit to the shallow end.

Reaction score
You've come to the right place. Folks here have tons of experience and DoDad sells top quality equipment as well.