Mechanical filtration!

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi! First post here. I'm relatively new to this whole "pond thing" but do know a lot about aquariums. Before asking my questions let me introduce my pond. Its a nice kidney shape, around the 3000 gal mark. I have a submersible tetra "debris handling pump" I ran a only Skippy on it for the last 2 years and it was a total failure. I had such a HUGE debris problem I just completely cleaned my pond out. Now, I'm left with nothing. (I'm very understocked at the moment, so water quality is OK. I'm building a nice bog filter that will sit next to the pond to handle the biological load as my fish grow. However, I now know that I MUST put a mechanical filter in there first so I don't prematurely clog it up.

So, what would be the best DIY mechanical filter. I'm ADHD with a full time job and a life, this thing must pretty much take care of itself. Ideas? I saw some DIY sieves, things with brushes, pads, socks... What is the easiest to keep up?

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Welcome, Traci! Except that I don't have a full-time job (or a life, LOL!), our situations are almost identical -- and I'm still trying to figure it out! For a long time I had my pump (also a debris-handling) encased in either a crate or a 5 gal bucket (with holes) with filter media to act as a mechanical pre-filter. I thought the results were just "OK" with that set-up, so I decided to let the pump be w/out the pre-filter for a while. Needless to say, after about 6 months, I'm back with my DIY set-up.