My first garden pond...

Reaction score
Alright, so here we go...

I'm a beginner to the pond enthusiast hobby, although I have been interested in it for a while it wasn't until recently that I finally got the ok to begin constructing a very small garden pond. I'm hoping that if this one turns out nicely I might just be able to begin increasing the amount of trust put into me for the construction of a larger pond on my property. :icon_smile: Possibly this may be a small step for me into the business of landscape architecture...

Here's the issue...

I recently began working on my garden in the front of my house and although normal plants are beautiful, I just feel that a water component to this garden would really be the icing on the cake. My idea was to have a very small "stream" that would look like it was appearing out of nowhere, snake its way through some of my garden plants and eventually empty into a pond approximately 4'x3' at it's largest point with a max depth of about 2'. My hope is that I can use cement to make the form of this whole thing and use small white rocks to create a certain amount of randomness in the flow of the water. What I would need is a pump, and I've researched many different kinds but I'm really not sure on what to expect from a pump that I purchase. The measurements for this stream will be about 5 to 6 inches across with a depth of about 4 inches. I want to stream to appear to be running continuously and I know I will need a pump with a sufficient amount of power to pull this off.

The species that I am planning on incorporating in this pond will include a form of dwarf cattail at the shallower edges and a species of water lily for the center deeper areas. With mosquito fish as the only form of movement and hopefully they will act as the custodial crew for this undertaking.