My first Porch Pond

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello There,
I was at the thrift store and I found this crate and I decided to get it and convert it into a porch pond. I have never done this before, so I just wanted to make sure I am doing this correctly.
I am going to put wood on the bottom of the crate to make a flat bottom, I will then put a pond liner in the crate to keep water in. I will then put a hang-on-back filter on the side. I was not going to add any substrate, but I still wanted plants, so I will get pond plant planters. I wanted to put an Egyptian Papyrus in the corner then water lettuce, and finally a water lilly. After getting the water parameters correct was going to put in mosquitofish. I am going to place this on my porch where it will recieve full sun exposure for about 6 hours each day.
The main cause for my concern is that I calculated the size of the crate without anything and it is 14.43 gallons, is all that want to do too much for this?

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
You are too small for a lily, unless you go with one of the dwarf varieties. Lilies can have a large foot print of leaves. I would skip the water lettuce, get a dwarf lily and the papyrus. Put in rosy reds (minnows) pretty pink they will inhale mosquito larvae.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Welcome to the forums, I am new here also. Your porch pond sounds beautiful and I think you are right to be thinking about size and dimensions. Papyrus can get huge, but you can get dwarf varieties that might be better in balance. At the pond store or nursery I will often arrange my plants next to each other to see how foliage and size look together. If you get something you don't like put it somewhere else and try again. The fun thing is, you really can't make a mistake! Make show to show us how it turns out.

Reaction score
Country
United States