My goldfish died

Reaction score
Country
Australia
I am new to pond have a small one
I have had fish in there for couple weeks and one died others dnt look great ! There is plants pump and ph was good, why would it die ? I am thinking I’ll drain and start again if they dnt make it ... so sad

Attachments

• AC18335B-1AFC-4B81-A48E-49741F02C689.jpeg
    AC18335B-1AFC-4B81-A48E-49741F02C689.jpeg
    208.7 KB · Views: 145
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Oh, that's too bad! There are lots of reasons fish die - some we can avoid, some we can't.

A few more details about your pond will be helpful: how old is your pond? How many gallons? Did you add the fish to a freshly filled pond, or was the water allowed to age a bit? How many fish do you have? Did you add any chemicals or treatments to the pond? You said the pH is good - what's the exact number? Are you testing all the water parameters? Did the fish show any unusual signs before or after dying like sores or red spots or gulping at the surface? What are the other fish doing that makes you think they aren't OK? Be as specific as you can - any details you can share may give us the clues we need to figure out what's going on.

Don't empty the pond - sometimes that's the WORST thing you can do.

Reaction score
Country
Australia
I moved in recently and pond was here already and pond already had water and some algae but more on bottom and sides.

I checked only ph as I wasn’t aware of checking anything else ? Ph was 7 the fish have been in there for month, they all seemed fine the day before this fish died which there were no signs but now the others are lethargic and hanging at the top of pond.
I am going to go pet shop soon and test the water to see if amonia is high ? My cousin said may have spiked ?

If my fish don’t make it I am considering emptying and refilling In case there was somthing in the water from previous people.

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Tested amonia levels
Was 0.25-0.50