My gravel bog filter build (with pictures)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a-8b
Country
Netherlands
Hello all!

I registered here in September last year after building my new pond.
https://www.gardenpondforum.com/threads/were-gonna-need-a-bigger-pond.24468/

A complete novice back then, and by now still no where near an expert.
I enjoyed reading all the comments in that thread, some of them inspired me, and all of them made me wiser.

The new pond was made with EPDM liner and my old preformed was just laying around.

Some people suggested it would make a nice bog filter, which sounded like a pretty good idea.

At the time I didn’t have the energy and resources to realize a project like this, and the whole idea remained just that, an idea. It stuck though. Over the winter I’ve been reading a lot, thinking about it and I
dismissed the whole idea more than once.
It just felt like way too much work.

But as spring arrived, it soon became clear that my puny little filter-pump was not going to keep this pond healthy and pleasing to look at.
The pond was fine during the winter, all of the fish survived (which I could have done wearing a pair of socks and some rags… some winter!)
Soon as the water started to warm a little in April, things started to get mucky and green.

Time to get to work.

Back when I made this pond, I severely underestimated the maintenance required to keep it looking clean.
Not really having the money for a fancy ready-to-go filter system, I had a go at making something of my own.
I took an old paint bucket, cleaned it, drilled 2 holes in it, fitted some bits of PVC piping and attached some flexible hose to feed water from the pond into this thing.
For filter material I tore apart an old pillow which was filled with bits of porous polyurethane or something like it.
Stuffed the paint bucket, put the lid on and hit the pump switch. Gurgle gurgle, and presto, water came out of the top end.