My Koi Are Flashing

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,
I am new to koi keeping and my koi have started flashing recently.
I researched about it and people have said about taking a scrape of the koi and examining it under a microscope.
I’ve done this and have found the attached.
Can anyone help identify what it is please?

thanks
Jake
Jak
33F3B7AC-6CCF-4913-9198-68DEE95C9DA7.png

Attachments

• B4A273A6-B93B-48F9-B8DE-3B5EE027C748.png
    B4A273A6-B93B-48F9-B8DE-3B5EE027C748.png
    156.1 KB · Views: 47
  • 7E3B5846-36E6-4364-941A-3624273EED95.png
    7E3B5846-36E6-4364-941A-3624273EED95.png
    178.5 KB · Views: 51
  • CD8E19FE-2180-4194-B85A-96CC2A93728F.png
    CD8E19FE-2180-4194-B85A-96CC2A93728F.png
    197.7 KB · Views: 50
  • CA3FB70E-F154-4AD2-8967-D881B1BEAF0B.jpeg
    CA3FB70E-F154-4AD2-8967-D881B1BEAF0B.jpeg
    94.4 KB · Views: 45
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
No clue - fish health is not my thing! But I wanted to say welcome and hopefully someone here will know.

In the meantime - tell us a bit about your pond and fish. How big is it? How old? How many fish? Are they all koi? What kind of filtration are you using?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6 A
Country
United States
I would post these photos on koiphen.com. It's a koi only forum and they have an area devoted to health and illness.

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hello and welcome!

Ditto what @Lisak1 and @Tula said. I never had any parasites to see when I would scrape and scope — which is a good thing — but I do seem to recall that it’s easier to ID them when they are moving.

And are you sure your koi are flashing and not spawning or just playing in the water? As @Lisak1 said, more information about your pond would be helpful.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
no expert here, but i believe its costia

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello and welcome!