My Koi's Are MIA

Reaction score
Country
United States
Im a newbie to the site, but have had my pond for years. I love my fishies, but recently, they have been spooked. They do not come out, they do not want to eat, they have disappeared.

My fishies recognize my voice and they always come out, but this time I don't know what's wrong. I did however, notice a possum twice in my yard in the past week. Could they be the link to my problem, because I did read that possums do swim.

Can someone help me save my fishies. What do I do? Do I get a trap to get the possum out of my yard? I did decide to put a netting over parts of my pond. Help?

Reaction score
That behavior sounds like a reaction to being predated on. What part of the country are you in? How big/deep (at the edges) is your pond?

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Yup. They're spooked. They'll get over it. I would guess your possum friend is the culprit. I don't know how they are as predators of fish in ponds, though. Is your pond easy to get into for a critter?

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hello and welcome!

While opossums will eat just about anything, in general “fishing” isn’t a likely trait. Now, seeing a potential predator will definitely spook the fish — the poor fish can’t tell the difference.

Reaction score
Country
United States
That behavior sounds like a reaction to being predated on. What part of the country are you in? How big/deep (at the edges) is your pond?

Im in the USA. My pond is like 10x15 and 4 feet deep. They're slowly coming around. I did call animal rescue and they assured me that the possum will not go in the water. Sadly, that has been the only critter that Ive seen in my yard last week.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Yup. They're spooked. They'll get over it. I would guess your possum friend is the culprit. I don't know how they are as predators of fish in ponds, though. Is your pond easy to get into for a critter?