My mini-pond pics and stories

Reaction score
Pond newbie here. I'm finally fulfilling a childhood fantasy - I mean beautifying my yard - by adding a small pond / water feature. Will post pics as I go along.

I have a quite-small backyard, so not much space to work with. Mainly I wanted an interesting feature, something to add some nice background sound, and something for my kids to have some fun with as well (I have a 2 year old son that is obsessed with water).

Reaction score
First the "proof of concept", done after installing the pond bed (got at Lowes). I've got one larger and three smaller tubs to use for the water run areas. Wanted to make sure the flow was good with the pump I have (I think it's 33 gph - a very small pond pump, but adequate for what I want).

It worked well.

My son stood there for about an hour - "Iss water! Iss water!". He loved it.

Attachments

• IssWater.jpg
    IssWater.jpg
    104 KB · Views: 812
Reaction score
Intent is to have several small water drops/falls feeding into the main pond, integrated into a rock garden environment with various plants - mostly things like ferns and such; some annuals and some perennials. I decided to even have a tunnel, which seemed like it'd be pretty cool, giving a "spring" effect. I made the tunnel out of 4" PVC.

I had a cool rock that with an interesting story. Shortly after we moved into our house I noticed what appeared to be a fist-sized rock jutting up in our front yard. I tried prying it up, and it wouldn't budge. Being a guy - well - I had to get that rock up. After much digging and prying, I ended up with a quite large rock (about 100 lbs), with one side concave. It looked like a really neat rock to integrate into the water feature, so voila.