My new house has a pond, need help..

Reaction score
Hi, I'm a noob here and to ponds as well.

I bought a house last Feb that has a pond in the back yard. The property is in the woods, so the pond is surrounded by trees about 20 feet away. I had a pond guy come take a look and give me a report on it. It's in basically good shape, but needs some help. He said it was about 3/4 of an acre, with about 550,000 gals. It has 'no' aeriation and is 13 feet deep at one end. It is tear drop shaped and shallow at the other end. the water is kind of murky, but it has lot's of frogs, perch, and weeds.

I would like to get some trout and other fish in there for fishing. The pond guy recommeneded an aeriation system. He said I could put it in my garage and bury the hose in the ground for the 50 yards to the pond and into the bottom for about $1500. So, I was wondering if that was a good deal, or should I try and do this myself? Or should I get an electrician to run power out near the pond and put it there. I have no clue how expensive that would be. Or what kind of system to buy. Any help or comments would be appriciated.

Attached is a pic of my pond.

Thanks,
Snacko

Attachments

• pond.jpg
    pond.jpg
    101 KB · Views: 407

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
check out airmax systems .I am looking at a smaller system for my small pond and even for the big ones they have pretty good prices

Attachments

• lily storm 7.28 017.JPG
    lily storm 7.28 017.JPG
    63.1 KB · Views: 268

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
They come as kits and even the next one up from the 500 dollar system may be good for you and is 700 dollars and you can go on you tube they have videos set up to see them working and also show you how to replace bladders

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
welcome10.gif
Snacko