My pond has an official Body Count.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
See my intro for an explanation of the posting title. It's 100% true. I'm not proud of it.

So, I have zero aquaculture experience, and this unspeakable, smelly THING in my backyard which I am determined to tackle. The neighbors are complaining, it reeks to high heaven, the wasps and mosquitoes are swarming, and I've officially HAD it. This pond is getting handled, one way or another. I just don't want to contract malaria, spend $5000, or poison any surrounding environments in the process.

The pond is huge. About 20'x20'x12' deep. It has a big waterfall, all kinds of pipes and things connected to it, and I know that the pump burned out years ago. Basically, it has all been sitting untouched for nearly 8 years. (We live in Denver.) I need to do as much as I can by myself, because I want to try to do this as economically as possible.

So, today I'm going to attempt to drain some of the water out (emptying it into the irrigation ditch?) with a sump pump and hose. There is so much CRAP in it, though, I'm anticipating a few problems. Any advice would be very appreciated! ☺️ Stay tuned for photos!

Meyer Jordan

Tadpole
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
Once this pond has been completely drained and cleaned out, then a reasonable assessment can be made as to what will be needed to return it to a properly functioning water feature.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
It's possible, though, for me to drain it and clean it on my own, right? I'm a little afraid of the bacteria situation. I know nothing about this stuff, but plan to wear long sleeves and muck boots/gloves. That should be sufficient, I'm hoping. ☺️

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
12 feet deep!!!! wow, that's very very deep.

Cant wait to see the pictures.

Good luck!!

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States