My pond is in the woods and has lots of leaves. Zone 6b. Should I add snails?

Jeff G

A bird stopping by for a drink.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
My pond is a dug, 7 ft deep oval, but the bottom 3 ft or so is filled with leaves. The goldfish seem to love it. Little ones hide among the leaves while the big ones seem to sit right on top. I regularly clean the floating leaves off the top with a net. but I don't touch the leaves on the bottoms since it stirs up a cloud of mess. I hear that rotting leaves are bad for fish and I should clean them out - but that is not going to happen.
Would snails be useful or do anything? Would they survive the winter? I live in region 6b. Would my 6" goldfish just eat them?

(I'm sorry I am asking such basic questions. I'm a noob. I dug the pond as an afterthought while learning how to use a backhoe I rented for a house project. The hole turned into a "pond" when we had a big rainstorm and I've kept it filled ever since. This has turned out to be a fun project.)

Jeff G

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
It is an 8 ft x 12 ft oval. There are eight, 6 inch goldfish and a number of small ones that I put in at the end of the season. I counted 5 the other day but the others could have been hiding in the leaves.
The pond is unlined. Every time I mess with it, I raise up clouds of silt. That does not seem healthy for the fish.

Meyer Jordan

Tadpole
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
Every time I mess with it, I raise up clouds of silt. That does not seem healthy for the fish.

This is, of course, an item of concern but given the pond's location it will eventually completely fill with organic matter (leaves, twigs, etc.). This accumulation will eventually affect water quality and likely the health of the fish. Clean it now or clean it later...your choice. But you will eventually be forced to clean it.

Jeff G

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States