My take on green water

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a/7b depending on the map
Country
United States
I'm still relatively new to this pond thing. And as such I've been learning a lot. When I put my pond in, it was simply to do something with a sinkhole at the barn.
It kinda snowballed from there. Its about 3000 gallons total, with two ponds, stream, and two "falls". First year, I fought green water, tooth and nail, with all kinds of additives, thinking I was doing good. One of the additives was bacteria. But I had to feed the bacteria something, so I bought a dozen minnows at the local bait shop.

The minnows didn't survive long. Well, one did. anyway, I continued to fight green water, striving for crystal clarity. I fabricated filters, bought filters, put in plants, added more chemicals, water changes, etc. All of which made more work for me, but did nothing for the pond. This year, starting my 4th year in, I just decided to let it go. I sed "ta heck with it". When all the fish are gone, I'll fill it in, and plant grass.

Well, I do skim the debris from the surface with a net from time to time, and empty the skimmer basket, but that's about it. Guess what! Now that I've just left it to it's own devices, the water is reasonably clear, the plants are growing, the string algae is thriving, and the fish are loving it. There is all kinds of aquatic life that has materialized seemingly from thin air. Salamanders, frogs, snails, etc.

Water quality was never an issue, just thick pea soup. Which I unwittingly encouraged with all the additives over the years. So my take on this is; when you get your pond in, and running, just leave it alone for a while, and see what happens. Sometimes it's a day or two, or mabe even a month or more. But once it reaches it's balance, it will do what normally happens in nature. And isn't that what we want is for our man-made ponds to appear to be a natural water feature, and not a swimming pool?