My test results.


Joined
Sep 14, 2018
Messages
328
Reaction score
64
Location
Georgia
Hardiness Zone
8
Country
United States
PH: 8.5
Nitrate: 0
Ammonia: 0.25
Nitrite: 0
These are the results of a 5 week old new pond.
I think i can add gold fish now??
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2018
Messages
380
Reaction score
338
Location
Huntsville, AL
Hardiness Zone
7B
Country
United States
I just went through the start-up of my first pond. Lots of testing until all the tests were right. Added fish and NO2 went to max over night. It was panic city until I got advice to add Prime. That knocked it down to zero for 24-48 hrs then it rose again but not as far. Added prime again and that time NO2 stayed down and it has all been perfect since. My theory is I had bacteria to handle the ammonia but the NO2 bacteria were not that far along. So, my advice on meager experience is get the ammonia to zero, then add some fish and test and be ready with enough prime to handle any nitrite or ammonia level rises.

To get a better answer from the folks here you need to give some info on your pond: description of pond, bog, filtration, pumps, aeration and how many fish you want to add to start. I added five, 4 inch shiniest (they were on sale 5 for $40.00). That was to much for my 1200 gallon pond with bog, skimmer and waterfall. See my pond today in picture. Water is still green but all tests are great. Fish are so happy!
 

Attachments

Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 14, 2018
Messages
328
Reaction score
64
Location
Georgia
Hardiness Zone
8
Country
United States
700 Ga. 1-Presure filter 2- aerators 2 waterfalls and about 7 pond plants.
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2018
Messages
428
Reaction score
784
Location
Tennessee
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
Your nitrogen cycle is only just beginning. It could take another couple months to complete. Maybe even longer if you're running UV. Patience.
 
Joined
May 5, 2013
Messages
927
Reaction score
455
Location
Le Roy, New York
The day you filled your pond you could have added fish. How long did you wait as a kid to put goldfish in a bowl? Just because someone says it loud enough and often enough does not make it a fact. Things get repeated over and over again on the internet. Fish are fish and these are not rare tropical fish, they are carp.
 
Joined
May 21, 2018
Messages
446
Reaction score
358
Country
United States
Yes, you can add a fish. You need something in the pond to get the cycle going. You can do it fishless or start with one, small goldfish.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2018
Messages
328
Reaction score
64
Location
Georgia
Hardiness Zone
8
Country
United States
What can i do to get the cycle going? As you can see Theirs plants, bubblers and waterfalls. I really don't know what to look for except the water readings that seem to be pretty good.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Oct 28, 2013
Messages
7,533
Reaction score
8,473
Location
Northern IL
I would totally add a couple of fish. For some reason I thought you had them in there already! (But now that I think about it, I think I had you confused with @MajorDan and all his neighborhood kids coming round to feed his fish!)
 
Joined
May 21, 2018
Messages
446
Reaction score
358
Country
United States
Me too, I originally thought you had fish. Yes, add fish. That will 'kick start' the cycle. Your pond is beautiful. Please package it up and send it to me.
 
Joined
May 10, 2018
Messages
345
Reaction score
324
Location
Ely Mn
Hardiness Zone
3b
Country
United States
Start with two. Your initial numbers tell me you’re not cycled. Add 2 fish and test daily. You’re going to see the ammonia go up. Keep it at 2 fish til you see some nitrates.
 
Joined
May 5, 2013
Messages
927
Reaction score
455
Location
Le Roy, New York
How many fish can i add?
If you are talking about small goldfish, the size you would put in a fishbowl you could add 20 and it wouldn't make a hill of difference. They are small and grow very slowly. On the other hand, if you are talking about koi then one would be the limit from what I can tell from looking at the picture. Just don't try and overthink things.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2018
Messages
328
Reaction score
64
Location
Georgia
Hardiness Zone
8
Country
United States
[B]bettasngoldfish[/B]: What do you mean until my filter matures? Are you saying not to backwash. If i don't backwash once a week the pond gets cloudy.

What should my readings be when the pond is finely cycled?
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
3,103
Reaction score
2,122
Location
North East Ohio-Zone 5
Country
United States
Here is some good info (even though on a koi site it still pertains to goldfish or any other fish for that matter)

http://www.koihealth.info/nitrogen-cycle.html

While in the process of cycling/maturing your pond it's best not to clean the filter. You want to give the bacteria a chance to grow. The cloudy water is a normal part of the cycle. If left alone it will clear up on its own as things balance out.

Once the pond is mature you should have zero ammonia, zero nitrite, and 20-40 nitrate (although it could be much lower depending on stocking levels, feeding schedule, and how many live plants you have to use up the nitrate)
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2018
Messages
328
Reaction score
64
Location
Georgia
Hardiness Zone
8
Country
United States
This is my readings today
PH: 8.5
Nitrate: 0
Ammonia: 0.25
Nitrite: 0

Should i add some good bacteria and Prime?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 14, 2018
Messages
328
Reaction score
64
Location
Georgia
Hardiness Zone
8
Country
United States
Two small gold fish. It's been a little over 5 weeks now. The fish were added two weeks ago.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
3,103
Reaction score
2,122
Location
North East Ohio-Zone 5
Country
United States
I would go ahead and dose with prime so the ammonia isn't dangerous to your fish. You should continue to use it until you see ammonia at zero and then once you see nitrite and it goes back to zero you can stop dosing (the bottle says every 48 hours but I have always done every 24)


Keep using your test kit so you know when your cycled. Then you will be ready to add more fish.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top