My understanding of the nitrogen cycle seems off? Please illuminate!

Reaction score
Country
United States
Ok, so I've been struggling with this for a few days. I thought I understood the cycle (I am a Chemical Engineer originally:D).

Fish eat food, fish poop/pee/respire or however, end up making ammonia.
One type of bacteria (nitrosomonas) converts ammonia into nitrite. Another type (nitrobacter) converts nitrites into nitrates.
Nitrates is food for plants and either needs to be absorbed by plants in the pond or becomes free ample food for algae (which is always there more or less even if you have clear water and the pond has cycled) and, voila, you have a bloom.
SO, the questions:

1) Although the algae helps remove the nitrate, it also removes much oxygen in the process, so ideally you want to stock/feed fish only as much as your plants will allow based on their nitrate requirement. So, how do people maintain crystal clear water in "sterile" looking ponds with koi? I saw one such inside pond at "The Pond Place" and it had 2 ft koi and crystal clear water. I asked how? They said it was UV light. OK, I get that, it kills the free algae. What about the poo/pee stuff though. This pond had zero plants (it was indoors). I am assuming it had good bacteria, so no issues with ammonia and nitrite, but then wouldn't there be nitrate and it would build up even if they had a bottom drain and they were doing water changes? Is there any other way to neutralize the nitrate?