n00bie in SoCal (Burbank)

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm John and I'm currently building my 1st pond.
At the moment I'm clearing out the area I plan to have the pond in.
It's will be about 4-4.5' deep and appoximately 2500 gallons.
I'm fairly new to the hobby and the Koi I have in my aqauriums are growing, so this is the next step.
I've been reading up alot of information from this site and a few others.
What I would love to do is visit other local pond owners to see what they have accomplished.
I'll try and get pics up after downloading them.

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Reaction score
Welcome to our forum my friend. Another caught the fever huh? I wish i could afford to go bigger, way bigger. well, nice to have you onboard, and dont stop pondering your ponding.
MARK

Reaction score
I've had the fever for sometime now. I decided by the start of the year to seriously get going. I guess you could say it was somewhat of a new years resolution or new year's goal. Something of that sort. So far, all I've done has costed me nothing from my pocket. I've had some help from my brother-in-laws (2 of them), since they are living with me and the family for free. So what a great way to get some labor for free in a way.
Thanks for the welcome.

Reaction score
^ Thank goodness they aren't teenagers. My B-I-L's are actually older than me. But I don't have a problem telling them I need their help with stuff around the house.

Reaction score
mister2driver said:
^ Thank goodness they aren't teenagers. My B-I-L's are actually older than me. But I don't have a problem telling them I need their help with stuff around the house.

haha they better listen to you theyre living at your house

Reaction score
Hell ya they better listen. It's too bad that I always have to suggest things for them to do. I guess it's better that way, I would be kinda like a micro-manager.

Reaction score
mister2driver said: