Need advice, and recommendations please

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
Now that my pond is up and running, I was looking for suggestions on supplies. I have a second pump, in case the first fails. I have a water test kit(pond master), chlorine remover. What medications , further equipment should I have on hand, just in case. I also have a quarantine tank. I live in zone 6 if that helps.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
I think much of what you need to keep on hand depends on how quickly you can source things locally. I'm in a suburban area where I could get most anything I need within an hour or two, so I don't worry too much about keeping supplies on hand. We had an extra pump, but the one time I tried to use it I discovered it no longer worked, so that wouldn't have helped at all! And things like medications have expiration dates so I would hesitate to stock those as the need for them should be inconsequential if at all. In fact, we've never used any medications on our fish.

If you have a good net for scooping leaves I think you're all set!

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
I only keep around the pond breather, one extra, a net, no medication.
Do have a extra pump, have not needed it yet. I had two for my pond in AZ so I ended up with two here. One in use (been running since 2004 expect when I moved it across country) I had to shut down the pond at my AZ house, pond and rental just did not work out.

Reaction score
In my opinion one of the best things you can add to your pond water is montmorillonite clay. There's plenty of info available on the web about all of the many benefits adding clay does for your fish. Check it out. You'll be glad you did.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
Thanks everyone.