Need help can anyone give me some pointers on my pond design


Joined
Apr 3, 2022
Messages
7
Reaction score
5
Country
United Kingdom
I want to make a raised pond using breeze blocks. My pond size is gonna be 8ft x 5ft by 2ft high at ground level but will go another 1ft below and banked up about a foot along the inside edge and I will be using pond liner.Just wondering will the breeze blocks laid on its side be strong enough. I've attached a plan I've sketched out. Any help will be appreciated. Many thanks
 

Attachments

  • 20220403_190025.jpg
    20220403_190025.jpg
    71.2 KB · Views: 36
Ad

Advertisements

TheFishGuy

( Insert something funny )
Joined
Jul 9, 2020
Messages
1,348
Reaction score
924
Location
Colorado
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
4b or 5a
Country
United States
I want to make a raised pond using breeze blocks. My pond size is gonna be 8ft x 5ft by 2ft high at ground level but will go another 1ft below and banked up about a foot along the inside edge and I will be using pond liner.Just wondering will the breeze blocks laid on its side be strong enough. I've attached a plan I've sketched out. Any help will be appreciated. Many thanks
As far as the breeze blocks go, with your current height you may want to secure them with rebar or mortar if that is an option.

I am not in construction though, so take this with a grain of salt.

I don’t thing you need 3ft of depth, so you could probably just go with 1ft below ground and 1ft above.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2022
Messages
7
Reaction score
5
Country
United Kingdom
As far as the breeze blocks go, with your current height you may want to secure them with rebar or mortar if that is an option.

I am not in construction though, so take this with a grain of salt.

I don’t thing you need 3ft of depth, so you could probably just go with 1ft below ground and 1ft above.
Brilliant I would like to go 3ft as pet shop said fish need 3ft of water to survive winter months. But I don't have a lot of trust when it comes to pet shops as thay think mainly on profits...maybe if its 1ft above ground level and 2ft below. will I still need rebars or will I get away with just mortar. I do have 3 koi in old pond and a few goldfish aswell.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2019
Messages
823
Reaction score
601
Location
Winchester, VA
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
To me, 3 feet is a minimum. In most areas, that depth insures that the fish will have adequate room below ice in winter, and it's safer from predators.

Rebar is a must in my opinion. Mortar isn't strong enough, and I have serious doubts about the breeze blocks as opposed to concrete blocks. But I have no experience with those. I would want to make things as strong as possible and only have to do it once. Going back and redoing it is not a desirable option for me.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Apr 3, 2022
Messages
7
Reaction score
5
Country
United Kingdom
Brilliant thank you. Best to make it as strong as possible. I've just seen some videos online with people using hollow blocks filled with concrete and rebars. I started with a little preformed wildlife pond about 5years ago and since then I made a raised one out of 21mm osb boards, you can kind of guess what happened to that one lol. But I've definitely got the pond bug it's so addictive and relaxing when it's done. Every garden should have one.
 

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
13,454
Reaction score
7,638
Location
NW Louisiana -- zone 8b
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hello and welcome! What is your climate like? How cold does it get in winter and how hot does it get in summer?
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2022
Messages
7
Reaction score
5
Country
United Kingdom
Typical UK weather 0°c to 7°c winter months and summer max of 30°c if were lucky.
 

TheFishGuy

( Insert something funny )
Joined
Jul 9, 2020
Messages
1,348
Reaction score
924
Location
Colorado
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
4b or 5a
Country
United States
I like your idea of going 2ft down and 1ft above ground. That would provide you with your 3ft of depth, while making the above ground construction quite a bit easier!
 
Ad

Advertisements

TheFishGuy

( Insert something funny )
Joined
Jul 9, 2020
Messages
1,348
Reaction score
924
Location
Colorado
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
4b or 5a
Country
United States
Will it make for less water pressure being forced on the sides.
Yup! that could possibly enable you to skip rebar, though it really depends on what you mean by "breeze blocks". Do you have a picture of the breeze block?
 

TheFishGuy

( Insert something funny )
Joined
Jul 9, 2020
Messages
1,348
Reaction score
924
Location
Colorado
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
4b or 5a
Country
United States
I have to agree with combatwombat, you may still want a little support for those blocks.
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Messages
3,945
Reaction score
2,639
Location
Mount Pocono, Pennsylvania
Hardiness Zone
6a
Concrete blocks would be way better. As you stated, you can drive rebar down through the hollow sections and then fill them with concrete.

Is it at all possible for you to build the pond bigger for those koi. They can grow very large and need lots of space. 8 ft X 5 ft is way too small for koi.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 28, 2013
Messages
12,367
Reaction score
12,594
Location
Northern IL
Showcase(s):
1
If you're going to dig 2 feet down, why not just dig down another foot, skip the blocks and make the pond completely under ground?

I agree with that 100%.

As for depth, deeper is always nice as you have more water volume. However, you don't NEED three feet even in cold temps. Here in the Chicago area I've seen TONS of ponds that are built 24 inches deep and the fish overwinter in them just fine.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2022
Messages
9
Reaction score
4
Country
United States
I would guess that the volume of the pond above grade will not do all that much for thermal protection. If you have 2' of pond above grade, supported by blocks, it will cool down much more rapidly than that same 2' of pond buried in the ground.

On the other hand, Lisak1's experience sounds pretty encouraging. I don't know where you're located, but I'm guessing it's often warmer than Chicago!
 
Ad

Advertisements

sissy

sissy
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
32,914
Reaction score
15,542
Location
Axton virginia
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
I used rebar inside mine you can see it in my pond build . It works great . I have clay soil so packed each block solid with it and then the rebar . Been lie that even after I had to rebuild the pond 2 times because a dog fell in
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top