Need help, exlarge pond with green water

Joined
Jun 17, 2017
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Hi, thanks for adding me, this is the place iv'e been looking for, so much information! I have a 50,000 gallon pond with green water. It was fine then it rained and now it is green. I have called a couple of pond places that I use and had a pond friend come look. Iv'e been told to use D'Solve or Algaefix or wait 3 days then use EcoBoost and Pond Clear. I called 2 weeks later and they said to do a 50% pond change and then keep with the chemicals. I was stupid and did about a 30% pond change and it pretty much ruined more than half of my plants and the water looks even greener. I have an 8000 GPH pump and a waterfall but my friend said I need a 25000 GPH pump. The pond place said a 25,000 GPH would not fit and it will blast out of my waterfall. So iv'e been looking at UV sterilizers/clarifiers and pond pumps and I don't know what i'm looking at plus it is soooo expensive for this big of a pond. Last year my water did the same thing and I couldn't fix it then early spring it was as clear as a bell until it rained. Does anyone have any suggestions, I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you!
 
Ad

Advertisements

Meyer Jordan

Tadpole
Joined
Oct 10, 2014
Messages
7,177
Reaction score
5,650
Location
Pensacola, Florida
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
Could you post some photos so that we can get an idea of the configuration of your pond?
What are the actual dimensions....length, width, average dept?
What do you have for biological filtration?
How many and what size fish?

Based on what you have posted you may need to correct more than one thing. Can respond more when above requested info is posted.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2017
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Hi there, my pond is shaped like a bean or kidney. It has a skimmer at one end and a waterfall at the other on the top side. The waterfall has the mat then bioloical fiter and lava rock on top. It's 4 1/2 ft deep at the waterfall end and 2-3 throughout. I don't know the exact words but I have a Atlantic Gardens Bahama filter falls with skimmer. The waterfall is 36" across and 24" deep, the skimmer is a 7000 with an 8000 GPH pump, the pond is 4 years old, it's never been green till the end of last year. I will try to send pictures, I'm not very good at sort of thing. I have Koi that are around 12-15" long for the big ones to 5" for the small ones. I should have a gazilion fish but I get those big ugly birds sometime and I think they keep it thinned out, I never see dead fish. Thank you so much for your reply!
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2013
Messages
8,491
Reaction score
9,165
Location
Northern IL
Welcome! You will find lots of help here - and @Meyer Jordan in particular is a good guy to pay attention to. He's been around ponds for a few years!

As for posting pictures, if you can get the photos on the desktop of your computer, all you need to do is drag and drop them into the text box of your response. Very simple!
 

Meyer Jordan

Tadpole
Joined
Oct 10, 2014
Messages
7,177
Reaction score
5,650
Location
Pensacola, Florida
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
Hi there, my pond is shaped like a bean or kidney. It has a skimmer at one end and a waterfall at the other on the top side. The waterfall has the mat then bioloical fiter and lava rock on top. It's 4 1/2 ft deep at the waterfall end and 2-3 throughout. I don't know the exact words but I have a Atlantic Gardens Bahama filter falls with skimmer. The waterfall is 36" across and 24" deep, the skimmer is a 7000 with an 8000 GPH pump, the pond is 4 years old, it's never been green till the end of last year. I will try to send pictures, I'm not very good at sort of thing. I have Koi that are around 12-15" long for the big ones to 5" for the small ones. I should have a gazilion fish but I get those big ugly birds sometime and I think they keep it thinned out, I never see dead fish. Thank you so much for your reply!
Atlantic is a wee-respected company...nice people.
One more question--- How often and how much are you feeding your fish?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jun 17, 2017
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
I didn't feed them for a long while. I feed them about every day one time a day and I try to feed what they will eat.
 

Meyer Jordan

Tadpole
Joined
Oct 10, 2014
Messages
7,177
Reaction score
5,650
Location
Pensacola, Florida
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
Hi there, my pond is shaped like a bean or kidney. It has a skimmer at one end and a waterfall at the other on the top side. The waterfall has the mat then bioloical fiter and lava rock on top. It's 4 1/2 ft deep at the waterfall end and 2-3 throughout. I don't know the exact words but I have a Atlantic Gardens Bahama filter falls with skimmer. The waterfall is 36" across and 24" deep, the skimmer is a 7000 with an 8000 GPH pump, the pond is 4 years old, it's never been green till the end of last year. I will try to send pictures, I'm not very good at sort of thing. I have Koi that are around 12-15" long for the big ones to 5" for the small ones. I should have a gazilion fish but I get those big ugly birds sometime and I think they keep it thinned out, I never see dead fish. Thank you so much for your reply!
You don't specify how many fish total.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2017
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
I really don't know. If I had to guess I would say around 30?? Not sure....
 

Meyer Jordan

Tadpole
Joined
Oct 10, 2014
Messages
7,177
Reaction score
5,650
Location
Pensacola, Florida
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
Thanks for all of the info.

50,000 gallons (if this is indeed the correct capacity) is quite a large pond and is of more than sufficient capacity to comfortably support the 30 fish that you now have. but there are two (2) areas that do need to be addressed. Your total flow rate is number one. Your friend is correct in their assessment that you need at least 25,000 gph for this size pond. With your present pump your pond has a turnover rate of once every six (6) hours. This is comparable to the turn over rate of a swimming pool. 25,000 gph will give you a turnover rate of once every two (2) hours which is sufficient with the current fish load. Number two is that you are very deficient in your level of biofiltration. The model filter that you have is an excellent filter but is rated for a pond with a maximum capacity of 8,000 gallons. 30 fish would be entirely too many for an 8000 gallon pond with this filter and since the fish mass to available filtration is what determines the appropriate level of biofiltration, even with 50,000 gallons you are underfiltered.
You did not mention a bottom drain, so i am assuming that your pond does not have one. With the low comparable flow rate to the pond capacity most organic detritus will settle out long before the skimmer can remove it where it will decompose and release nutrients into the water. You likely do not have enough plant material to effectively take up this nutrient load leaving it to support an algae bloom.
The biofiltration needs to be increased, not to aid in controlling the algae, but to support your current population of fish. It may take a little longer than the typical pond, but even this large capacity pond will eventually have a problem with high Ammonia levels unless some remedial action is taken.
To put it another way, you may have a 50,000 gallon pond but it only has a support system designed for 8,000 gallons or about 1/6 the size of your pond.
Throw away the chemicals and treatments and, for now, forget about a UV. What must be done is to correct the source of your problem.
I know that you do not want to hear this but my recommendation is to have your pond retrofitted with another larger skimmer and waterfall filter and two (2) additional 8,000 gph pumps. And, if possible, add more plantings.
This will maintain your water quality at an acceptable level.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2017
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
You are absolutely right, that's been my fear the whole time. I also forgot to tell you that I have a good filtration system and another 6500 pump (just bubbling) in the pond, but I do know you are right on needing another system in there. Thank you so much for your help, I will try to put a picture up.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Meyer Jordan

Tadpole
Joined
Oct 10, 2014
Messages
7,177
Reaction score
5,650
Location
Pensacola, Florida
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
I am quite sure that you had this pond constructed by others. I feign from calling them professionals because I find it hard to believe that anyone with any knowledge of aquatic ecosystems would intentionally leave you with a system that was not adequately supported biochemically.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2017
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
No, I have to say we did it ourselves, BUT, we told them how much water it held and the size of the pond. I am thinking they either didn't believe me or didn't know what they were talking about. I all of the time get "you mean 500 or you mean 5000" and I say no, 50,000. It has been a huge money pit but has been worth it. I take some of the blame for not researching it at first myself, I know a lot but sometimes I just thing they know better. Oh well, I will just chalk it up as a lesson learned! I have tried to put my pictures up and it keeps saying they are to big. I will get it up one of these days!
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2012
Messages
7,046
Reaction score
7,206
Location
Water Valley, Alberta
Hardiness Zone
2a
Country
Canada
Perhaps adding some aeration will help with water circulation in the areas receiving little or no water movement.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2017
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Hi Mitch, I have an airmax aerator already! Thanks for replying though!
 
Ad

Advertisements

DeepWater

The Great Abyss
Joined
Sep 14, 2016
Messages
134
Reaction score
207
Location
Madison, WI
Hardiness Zone
5a
Country
United States
Is it a clue or a coincidence that 2 years in a row it was clear in the spring until a big rain and then turned green? It makes me wonder if the rain is washing in fertilizer from plantings or lawn or pet/animal waste.

Pictures would be a worth a thousand words. I've opened them in Paint then resized to 800x600 and saved as a new file name "xxxxx-800x600.jpg" and uploaded that one.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2017
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Hi there, I have asked my husband the same thing. He said he hasn't put anything past the mid mark on our back yard and when he did he put a pre-emerge with blue dye, he said if he did, the fish would be floating. With the rain, it doesn't rain that much here and we have had a crazy year, lots of rain! I am still trying with the pictures and the dogs don't poo near the pond! Now, I do have many bushes and a few trees right by it that are a pain in my back!
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2017
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
I put pictures up last night but a storm come through and I lost internet so I will put them back on. Anyway, I woke up this morning thinking about my pond, the pictures and all of the advice... and then it hit me.......My husband put round up with blue dye around my pond... probably thinking it wouldn't hurt a thing, I can't believe I didn't even notice. He said anything he did he did in March so it make sense. I'm just sick about it. Poor fish, iv'e been adding chemicals in there, the time and money, not to mention what my fish have to live in. Is there anything I can do? Do I treat it or do I have to let it run its course? Thanks for the help, you are all so knowledgeable. I do know I will have to deal with the man running around my pond with a sprayer in his hand causing havoc. I must say we live in the country and it is hard keeping up with everything so maybe I'll give him a pass just this one time, lol. The white one is Walter, he is my favorite!
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 28, 2013
Messages
8,491
Reaction score
9,165
Location
Northern IL
I'm not sure how you attached those photos, but they want to download when I click on them. You just need to drag and drop the photo from your desktop right to the box where you type your reply and they will appear in your post.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2017
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Hi Lisak, hmmm, I took them with my phone, then my son said to email them to myself the to save them on my computer. So I did that, then I clicked on them and it says to download, is that where I messed up?? So I did it and they appeared down at the bottom of my screen in little squares and I dragged them to the box. I must need to figure out how to do that same thing without downloading them? There is so much to learn!
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top