Need help with pond filtration

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6a
My pond is about 4500-5000 gallons. I currently have a large bio-falls spillway with the 2 pads acting as my filter. My water isnt green but its muddy looking. I want to buy another filter in conjunction with the bio-falls filter to aid in cleaning the water. An external stand alone unit. Since Im new to this I would like some help in choosing what brand filter I should get and what size pump I need for it. I want to get a filter that is good for a 10,000 gallon pond since mine is 5,000 gallons because my logic it will clean it at a faster rate. Ive seen filters in the store that cost so much money and then I was just on ebay looking at filters so much cheaper. Is there anything wrong with the filters on ebay? They have 10,000 gallon filters for about 180 bucks. Also is there a filter out there that concentrates on taking dirt out of the water? Since under my pond had natural ground water, i was forced to use pressure relief valves in the liner. Everytime the ground water builds up and hits 5lbs of pressure, the pressure relief valves open and allows the ground water in the pond. Since this may be the dirty water problem, i need a filter that will constantly clean the pond at a quick rate. The guy at the pond store told me even though the ground water is coming in the pond its clean water and shouldn't have an impact on making the pond water dirty. Doesn't sound logical to me but Im brand new at ponds and hes an expert so maybe he is right. Nonetheless the pond is dirty and needs cleaning. I want to go about this the best most cost effective way. Take into consideration im brand new at this and alot of talk and terms that comes second nature to seasoned pond owners sounds like a foreign language to me. Thanks in advance

fishin4cars

True friends just call me Larkin
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a