Need some advise on pond

brandonsdad02

They call me Ryan
Reaction score
So Im trying to figure out what to do with my pond this winter. I wasn't thinking ahead when I built it this spring and didn't make it deep enough for our harsh Iowa winters. Little late now to fix it. Will take care of that this next spring. What do most people in the Midwest do in the winter with there ponds? Do you take the fish out and bring them inside for the winter and turn it off for the winter. Do you heat it or not have to worry about it because you planned ahead when building the pond?

Next question. For those of you that have do deal with the fall leaves: do you spend a half hour every night like I do getting the leaves out that you can with a net or do you just not worry about it until spring? This is my first year for everything with the pond and I'm just wanting to know what would be the best for my pond and the fish. I know a pond takes a lot of work to keep it nice and ill do what ever it takes, just want to know what the rest of you do for your pond.

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
What kind of fish? Goldfish might be ok, they are pretty tough, I have read that koi are touchier about the cold.

You might want to set up some sort of air or a trough heater to keep a hole in the ice if you leave your fish in.

A lot of people net their pond. I let the leaves drop then net them out, but I don't get a ton of leaves in my pond. If you keep the fish in the pond over winter, you don't want a ton of leaves rotting in the bottom of the pond.

addy1

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
That is pretty shallow, you would be best to set up a tank for them for the winter. I got a 8 inch layer of ice last winter, but the pond is 5 feet deep. We don't go below zero very often, if we do it is a bounce.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States