Need some diagnostic minds here...

Reaction score
Hello! For those of you I haven't met my names is James and I'm a resident of northern Illinois.

Last summer I built a 4,000 gallon pond in my backyard with a great deal of help from folks here. Everything has gone fairly well but I've run into some problems with my fishies.

First, a little back story. My whole venture started two years ago when I was given a 10 gallon aquarium for my birthday from my wife. I decided to stock it with a few koi because, well, they're beautiful Japanese fish and at the time I was engrossed to two master's courses on Japanese history. Needless to say I found out real quick that there were going to be size issues. Before long I upgraded to a 55 gallon tank and then a 150 gallon tank. Little bugers grow like weeds! When we bought our first house two years ago I went to work building a pond and finished last year just before winter came. I put two koi in for the winter to see how they did and they survived the frigid winter here just fine. With springtime I added plants and the rest of my koi. A total of nine were in the pond by the tailend of spring after we bought four more to go straight into the pond.

They all did wonderful. I have some green cloudiness issues mostly because my pond receives direct sunlight from dawn until late afternoon. But I've read many places that that's not bad for the fish, it's just unsightly.

The fish range in size from 8-14 inches.

About a month ago I found one of the biggest ones dead on the bottom. I fished him out and it appeared as though he had a large internal hemorrhage spot on his underbelly. Mind you, I've spent over a decade working in trauma medicine so that's what it looked like to me.