Need your help in choosing a pond filter system for my back yard pond

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello everyone, new to this site so if i may sound a little ridiculous in some of my questions is because i'm a newbie to forums. I live in brooklyn N.Y. and have approx. 1000 gallon pond in the yard. I dug out the hole and laid in the rubber matting to form the pond. I've had it for almost 15 years so some of my koi are massive, some over 30 inches if in fact that is massive to some of you. My problem is i have been using this old tub filter with a pump that pumps the water into the filter over some mess pads that collect the dirt and debris. I'm exhausted from unclogging the pumps head which leaves me at many times with no filter working at all and if i don't catch it right away that day the water starts to turn green. I have a UV light but since the water isn't going through the system its useless. I NEED A GREAT FILTER SYSTEM. I don't want to start with bottom drains or taking the pond apart. Is there a system that i can just hook up to the pond the way the pond stands right now. Something thats outside the pond but draws the water out into it and i can clean the filter very easily. Instead of taking the whole tub apart and washing out the filter pads. Its so time consuming and starting to become not fun anymore. Money really isn't an issue but i don't want to spend thousands on a filter system. All of my fish were purchased from a company in japan, shipped to Hawaii then to kennedy airport where fed ex or what ever carrier they use deliver the box to my door step. All of this takes no more than 60 hours from start to finish. Waiting for your help in brooklyn.............thank you in advance

Reaction score
welcome!! I don’t have much experience but a pressure filter with back flush feature sounds like it might be easier for you.

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States