Neglected in Georgia

Reaction score
Hi Ponders,

My name is Tony and I am new to ponds. I just left an intro in the new members introduction area,

I live just northeast of Atlanta Ga. and just purchased a home with a neglected pond abandoned about 18 months and really need some advise.

There is no pump but there are about 40 gold fish and 5 twelve inch koi in the lower pond and there is
a lot of muck on the pond floor.

The pond is a 2 level deal with a 40 by 12 bow tie shape on the lower level. Its about 20 inches deep and 1 one of the pond estimators indicates its about 6000 gallons? There is a savio skimmer or pump
box but no pump.

The upper pond is 20 by 7 and about a foot deep and has a lot of what looks like anacharis plant ( spelling) for aquariums. there is a filter basin that is also a black box just above this upper pond. It is filled with mesh bags with a foam type material in the bags.This is about 10ft above the lower pond. This releases into the upper pond via a waterfall (if there was a pump) fills the upper pond causing it to overflow to an 8ft 18inch wide stream that splits into 2 18inch wide falls. Those in turn create streams
about 8 ft long that flow to the lower pond.

Lots of questions like what type and size pump.
Can I just start pumping water or do I need to clean the pond first?
What about the filter media? Clean or replace?
All other advice would be welcome as I am in over my head at this point.

Thanks

Tony

Reaction score
Sounds like you inherited a bad situation during a poor time of the year. Not sure what the winters are like in Georgia. It's already a stressful time of year for the fish. I think at the minimum, I'd at least get a bubbler in there. What are the air and water temps this time of year?

Reaction score