Nervous Newbie

Reaction score
Just got into a home that has an impressive backyard. Complete with a good sized pond. It has a waterfall & a dozen or so large fish. I'm fairly certain they're Koi of some type. Most are about 2 feet long. It has plants a filtration system along with some sort of ultra violet light thing. I really don't know anything other than to feed them a couple times a day & clean the skimmer weekly. I've stumbled onto this site in search of support. Once I figure out a few things like how to put pictures on here I'll have lots of questions. Oh by the way I'm in southern California.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Wekcome RobT! Your new pond sounds great! It is SO much fun you will become addicted to this! ;)
This is a really good bunch of people who really know about pond-ing--- very helpful to me as I am new at this also!
Look forward to seeing your pics!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6 A
Country
United States
Welcome!

It does sound like you have koi, from the length you've described. The UV light is used to kill some types of algae in the water. They are good for about one year, or one season, and lose their effectivenss after that time.

I look forward to pictures. Tell us more about the filtration set up if you can. Kim

Reaction score
Welcome!!!! I was hoping someone would answer your question on how to post pictures. If they would explain it in steps that a dummy like me could understand I would greatly appreciate it. I think if you can post pictures it will increase your enjoyment on this site. If someone answers her question PLEASE make it simple so I can benefit from your answer as well. THANK YOU IN ADVANCE

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b