New barrel pond

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, i'm new to the world of ponds and I have to admit, I never knew it would be so complex!

I created a small pond about 2 months ago using a whisky barrel which I lined first with pond liner. The bottom has a layer of aquatic compost followed by some gravel as do the plants in baskets.

My first problem was mosquito larvae. I had masses followed by a nasty smell, cloudy water and algae. I've since bought a good UV filter and some treatments to kill off the larvae and balance the water out. I haven't seen much improvement though weeks later.

I've bought a good testing kit but all the levels seem fine so I'm totally confused. Could it just be cycling still? Will I ever get clear attractive water without larvae in it or is this just what ponds look like? It doesn't look healthy to me and I would one day like to get a couple of small fish in there.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated . Thanks
IMG_20220919_170102.jpg
IMG_20220919_170107.jpg
IMG_20220919_170111.jpg
IMG_20220919_170117.jpg

cas

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
Are you pumping the water off the bottom? The water could be cloudy because the bottom has a layer of aquatic compost followed by some gravel and the pump is disturbing it.

JRS

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5a
Country
United States
Welcome to the forum!

What exactly is the aquatic compost? I also suspect this is your problem, too much organic matter for such a small volume of water. Are you also growing plants directly in the bottom of the barrel? If you have potted plants, not sure of the purpose of the layer at the bottom of barrel if no plants?

You will always get mosquito larvae in relatively still water even if clean. So plan on treatment or some small fish to eat them once the water stabilizes.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom