New from Baltimore, Maryland

Reaction score
Hello All,

We just bought a house with an acre of land and large pond. It's lovely (photo attached) but it hasn't been maintained in a while. I am a newbie and could use some advice: How do I deal with the murky green water? The goldfish that are there now are surviving, aparently, but I'm assuming I have an overgrowth of algae. Advice?

Thanks,

JK

Attachments

• Pond.png
    Pond.png
    39.3 KB · Views: 258

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
gosh how big is the pond oops sorry welcome and this way we can maybe help you .Is it a natural pond or liner and does it have a filter or pump .

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
welcomehu9.gif
jebias2001
I use 100% clay kitty litter for the string algae and quilt batting in a basket under my falls to catch the free floating kind. Leave the nice short..........I call it carpet algae on the sides and bottom tho.

Reaction score
Wow! Thanks for the speedy replies. This is a friendly site! My pond is manmade and has a liner. It's 32" x 12 ft. I'm guessing 20,000 gallons but not sure. It has a pump, filter, and falls. I appreciate all advice. The algae bloom is dense. The UV light seems like the way to go but seems very pricey. Probably worth it though. Added some mature goldfish two days ago and they are OK so far. Will send pics as I progress!

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
yeh uv's are not cheap and never had one myself as some say the work some say they don't .for that sized pond it may be to expensive to try and find out it doesn't work .

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States