New Garden Pond help!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

I was wondering if anybody could provide any advice on an issue I have with my garden pond?

I have recently moved into a house with an existing garden pond. It is around 8 feet long, 7 feet wide and around a foot deep. We have moved in to the property and are looking to spruce up the garden for the summer.

I have had garden ponds my whole life in my family and am excited to start my own journey. I however am a complete novice in this field and appear to have an issue with my pond.

When I first turned the power on to the pump and filtration system, there was a "pop" noise that came from the water pump. The water started flowing through and out the spout so I thought nothing more of it. However since this day we appear to be having a substantial amount of what I believe is green algae building up in the water.

As I have little knowledge in this field, I am guessing that the UV filter/bulb in the water pump may have blown? I am having to clean the surface algae every other day from the water, however it is now collecting on the bottom of the pond.

I have no idea what equipment is already setup so I have attached pictures.

Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• image0.jpeg
    image0.jpeg
    246.9 KB · Views: 103
  • image1.jpeg
    image1.jpeg
    137.4 KB · Views: 132
  • image2.jpeg
    image2.jpeg
    318.5 KB · Views: 95

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
1586964198783.gif
@OJBails
I don't have any experience w/uv lights but you can grab that string algae out w/a clean toilet brush pretty easy.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
the more oxygen you add to the pond and plants ,the less algae .But if you have fish you want some algae because it protects your fish .Do you have a API water test kit

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone