New Guy Building Pond In Louisville Kentucky

thetemples

KOI Chris
Reaction score
I'm building a KOI pond under my deck. I had some unfinished space, I don't get much sun here, but its the perfect spot for a water feature/pond. It will have a waterfall and be about 2500 gal. I am down 2 feet right now on the dig. The waterfall with start where the blue wheelbarrel is located now (you can see the wheel of it to the far top left of the pic).

I haven't acquired my creek rock just yet.

smaller.jpg

Attachments

• smaller.jpg
    smaller.jpg
    82 KB · Views: 666

DrCase

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
welcome to the forum......what are your filter plans?

thetemples

KOI Chris
Reaction score
I am planning on putting in a skimmer box that houses the pump and then that will push the water up the hill to a waterfall box that has a biological filter in it (big foam insert) -

I'm new to all of this, but the local pond store is selling me all of this stuff. I think its :

1-Liner with under mat
2-Skimmer Box & Pump
3-25' flexible PVC
4-Waterfall box with biological filter.

Somewhere around 1,000$

Sound somewhere in the ballpark? Excuse my mis-terminology.. still new to the parts and pieces.

Reaction score
Another thing to consider is your plans on cleaning the pond. Are you planning on draining every year and refilling?