New Guy from Franklin, OH.

Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

My name is Don. I am a retired firefighter. My wife and I had an area of our garden we weren't happy with, so one day decided to build a pond. We dug a big hole, and hauled in 4 ton of creek stone and before we knew it we had a 900 GAL. garden/fish. pond. We have 3 Koi, and 12 Gold Fish, plenty of water plants like Lilly, Parrot feather, Lotus, Aligenie Monkey plant,, Cat Tail and Creeping Jenny. We tried to run our pond without a filtration system, but we can't seem to keep the pond clear for more than just a few days. I finally broke down and ordered a Laguna 1400 filter, and pump. The filter has mechanical, bio and a 14W UV filtration system.

My concern now is will the new filter remove all of the plankton and all other beneficial material from the pond? We have baby fish, and we don't know if we should feed them or if the pond will remain self suficiant for the fish. We feed them a very small amount now, but will we have to feed daily once the new filter is up and running? Thanks for all replys.

Attachments

• 07-22-2011 00057.JPG
    07-22-2011 00057.JPG
    126.4 KB · Views: 246
Reaction score
Beautiful pond...I was told I didn't have to feed my fish ever but I do because that is one of the parts I love about having my pond,they have tons of yummy stuff to eat in the pond along with bugs that may land.

Reaction score
I've never had to feed my fish either but I did here and there to watch them do flips and circles and to take pictures of course. When I changed my last large pond from chlorine to natural they enjoyed nibbling on my knees.

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
welcomefromgang4.gif

Welcome to the group! Your pond looks nice

I didn't feed my fish for over 6 months, they grew very nicely, I didn't know any fish survived when we first set ours up.