New house came with pond. :)

Reaction score
Ive never had a pond or koi before. Our new house came with a 950 gallon pond filled with Koi and goldfish. I think there are too many koi so i have already given some of them to a pond care store. I have also noticed some of my Koi are pregnant how do i go about taking care of baby koi? do i do anything? should i just sell mama off beforehand? Im completely new to this. I think i would like to keep the larger Koi the smallest is about 2 feet and the largest is a bit over 3. My Orange and Black koi has 2 bluish silver crescent shapes on its side, what is this is it normal? if you can tell me what kind of Koi i have ide like to know. Also if anyone knows how to keep mesquitoes down around the pond i would greatly appreciate it, any helpful advice really would be great.

Attachments

• GEDC1935.JPG
    GEDC1935.JPG
    54.9 KB · Views: 292
  • GEDC1918.JPG
    GEDC1918.JPG
    124.9 KB · Views: 331
  • GEDC1937.JPG
    GEDC1937.JPG
    31.7 KB · Views: 281
  • ResizedImage_1374247874547.jpg
    ResizedImage_1374247874547.jpg
    31.7 KB · Views: 310
  • ResizedImage_1374247757773.jpg
    ResizedImage_1374247757773.jpg
    21 KB · Views: 333
  • ResizedImage_1374247612863.jpg
    ResizedImage_1374247612863.jpg
    21.7 KB · Views: 285
  • ResizedImage_1374247834400.jpg
    ResizedImage_1374247834400.jpg
    29.5 KB · Views: 320
Reaction score
Oh my gosh you lucky son of a gun. Some of those fish look quite valuable. I would not be giving the big ones away too fast. Im talking retail stores could get a few to several hundreds of dollars a piece for those. I really have no idea how to ID Koi but there are some experts on here so just be patient. Dave54 is very good. I am glad to hear you want to get rid of some of the fish though. It does look pretty crowded in there. I am just green with envy :) Those orange and black ones are just tooooooo coooooool!

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country