New house with a pond !!!

swede1976

London, England. UK
Reaction score
Hi peoples,

I am new to ponds and fish!! i have just moved it to a house that has a medium size pond. i have no experience of ponds at all. It has about 10 koi fish all different sizes.

My point is it has a filter that i had to clean out, it was filthy, i honest dont think it was cared for, not the problem i have is i can see the fish below about 3 inches of water, it is that black, its not algae as i think that is green.
forgot to mention the filter and pump didnt work they got clogged that is why i cleaned them out.

Any ides on how i can get the water clean and clear. ???

any ideas would be good as i havent got a clue what to do !!!

Thanks

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Reaction score
o.k when you cleaned out the filter, you did so by hosing it out with the garden hose, right? well if you have city water it has chlorine and/or chloramines in it and you killed the live bacteria in it.. if you dont have one, get a pool skimmer net, for maintainence. use this to slowly scoop out as much gunk out of the bottom as possible...get some dechlorinator. pump out 1/3 of the water. and replace with clean fresh water. dechorinate as you do this. let the pond fill slowly,as not to stir up any remaining gunk. do this a couple times,(wait a day in between) and we should be able to assess further actions... but you should get some beneficial bacteria to get things going alittle faster with the filter. what kind of filter do you have? if you dont know,or even if you do, post a few pictures of the whole set up.. pond and filtration. this will help us help you.

DrCase

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Welcome to the forum
Its going to take a little time to turn the pond around
net out what you can like Koiguy told you