New Koi Pond Build apox 8'x12'

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello everyone my Name is Landry and I just found this wonderful forum. I am looking for advice on my 3rd pond and waterfall attempt. About 25 years ago I decided I wanted a pond so I started learning watching videos and reading books. I finally had a pond with some goldfish my waterfall was terrible to say the least. Long story short If your going to build a pond spend the money and do it right the first time. Lesson learned I hope. I am now in the process of redesigning my pond and waterfall I just finished taking all the old stuff apart. I wish to have a koi pond this time with an under gravel filter and a skimmer and a biofalls. I have just been watching some inspiring videos and it reignited my passion. I have an idea of how I want my pond to look and I started doing some digging but I would like to see what you think about my shelf placement and skimmer placement. I also want to have some plants on the outside of the pond that are still in the liner with pond water about 2" gravel. I had a sandstone slab someone gave me that was my previous waterfall spillway but it was not natural looking so I am going to use it on the 5' deep side of the pond to walk out on and see my fish. I also would like to know what you would do on the waterfall side previous spillway height was about 18" from the top of the water I don't think I need it that high now. I will be pushing the waterfall back and I was thinking of having a big stone in the center and the water splitting around the stone the left side would be higher and fall forward the right side lower and going off to the right of the pond. I will probably remove the old stone structure that my sandstone is currently sitting on and place a few large boulders next to my pathway build the dirt back behind it and cut the pond and the waterfall into that area. I'm just not sure if I should have a shelf below the waterfall or a strait 5' wall. I know it's not