Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi my name is Andy and i have just joined the forum

I currently have two ponds 6ft x 4 ft by about 3 ft deep with a mixture of small koi and goldfish. I have been planning to build a large pond of approx 5mtr x 3mtr for a while and now my sons trampoline has gone its my project for the coming months. I have been very fortunate that a mate is closing down his pond and is giving me the complete set up including the fish. There are some big koi ,probably around 8 at 18" long plus lots of goldfish,tench, and a large diamondback sturgeon around 18".

I am completely new to large pond building / ownerhip so will probably be picking your brains in the future

Thanks

Andy

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Welcome to our forum of pond lovers!

Post pictures when you can. Start a construction thread for us to follow along and offer up our advice! Keep in mind koi needs lots of water space.

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
1584286439632.gif
@Kinger65
Koi need lots water so hoping you won't be getting too many fish. They need around 1000 gals per fish.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Welcome @Kinger65 ! Can't wait to see your pond come together!

Just remember when you start accepting fish that every pond has a bioload limit. Overloading your pond can spell doom for all your fish. Far less fish than your pond can hold is a way better option than far too many.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Hi my name is Andy and i have just joined the forum