azlavender

Backyard Natural Pond Newbie
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
Hi Everyone,

I have been practicing permaculture in my home garden for the last two years. One of the latest addition to my garden is a DIY natural garden pond that my husband and I built together. We finished majority of the build in late September, 2015 and I have added a couple of waterlilies, oxygenating plants, adopted one goldfish (named him Big Red), purchased 4 little shubunkins, added a handful of fancy guppies and some mosquito fish. I think some snails hitch hiked from the place I got the water lettuce from.

Everything seems to be working nicely, water stays clear even though I am only using plants to filter the water. I built a small waterfall to add oxygen to the pond and we love the sound of running water, really relaxing.

I am looking forward to learn from everyone here and hope to eventually contribute back when I gain more experience and knowledge.

Here's a few photos of our pond build. Still some more work to be done to it, but we are pretty happy with it so far.

This is when we were digging and building the retaining wall for about 1/3 of the pond to be above ground. Total depth is 3ft.
21356716792_3b2d1f5592_b.jpg

Here's the photo of us putting down underlayment and liner.
21396934919_c2de08a506_b.jpg

Still working out the kinks of our bog filter and waterfall feature...
21458153154_62b6c7f183_b.jpg

Here's the photos of us building the decking around the pond.
22124987681_7dfb0cf662_b.jpg

Almost done with decking here and building bench for the pond edging.
21498305533_ebeb062b2e_b.jpg

21948572620_e3946b9f22_b.jpg

King of Siam water lily seems to approve of our pond, beautiful blooms!
22156727732_c80eae7b05_b.jpg

azlavender

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
Wow what a cool backyard and pond. I am loving the multi-level. Was it like that when you bought the house? The pond looks wonderful as well!

Thank you tbendl!