• Total voters

jezabell79

New but not...
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
I'm new to the whole forum concept, but since I'm technically a beginner with koi (a little over a year) figured y'all could help me with your knowledge. Last summer I had a roommate come home with a bag of baby koi his client gave him. All I had was a 10 gallon tank, and a good friend gave me a 60 gallon preformed pond, & the rest is, as they say, history! Since then I've become consumed by everything koi! I'm almost 37, and I've never had a hobby, and now I'm shoulder deep in the wonderful world of koi keeping. I recently moved, and I now have my fish in a 100 gallon rubbermaid tub & the 60 gallon pond in my kitchen until I could get a bigger pond in the back yard, which i have free range of...(I live in an old 1930 house that is a 4-plex) & I just got a used hot tub for free I plan on making into my new pond oasis....
cool0010.gif
SO I joined for help on how to do this.....

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
I saw1 on you tube but it seems the jets were a big problem because he could not seal them tight and he gave up.Remember koi get large very large and wish someone had told me this 11 years ago .After rebuilding it 4 times I am now at 5000 gallons with 2 foot long koi .2 filters no skimmer and no bottom drain .Go with a liner pond

tbendl

T
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
I saw that too Sissy and was trying to remember. If you have the hot tub you could drop a liner in it but yeah I remember the jets being an issue as well.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
Also not sure where you live but i would be concerned about water getting to cold or hot .Is it worth the work ,I don't really think so .By the way welcome .I tried to find the video tbendl but no luck .Maybe some one else will have more info .

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States