New pond construction. The Water Garden Pond

fishin4cars

True friends just call me Larkin
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
I started a thread in showcase but since I can't get any added info or input I decided to start a thread that could also have interaction with fellow members. I have a small issue I am dealing with on my new build I would like to hear some input on as far as bog filtration as I am still new to this type bog filter although my old pond also had one it was more a flow through type with floating plants instead of a upflow gravel type.
So here is my problem. I started off with 12 inches of gravel on top of the pipe, total capacity of the bog is aprox. 1200 gallons or 5 cubic yards. I had about 4.5 cubic yards of gravel in the bog and the depth of the gravel was right at 12" but there was water still on top of the gravel. We started washing and adding gravel and are now at 5.5 cubic yards and 14.5" thick in gravel and the water still keeps coming above the gravel and is close to over flowing out in a couple of spots. I'm really worried about algae growth. Tonight I formed small steams in the top of the gravel and the water level dropped and seems to be working more like I want. Does anyone have any suggestions? BTW I'm pumping aprox, 1750 gph at 3' head for my head pressure IF there is no additional restrictions which considering I'm pumping through 14.5" of gravel I'm sure there is some additional loss. How much I'm not sure but there seems to be a nice flow as the water fall has a really nice effect coming from the bog. I'll try and post additional pics tomorrow as I just did the final touches tonight and have not yet had a chance to take pics. I also tried using a bigger pump of 8000 gph to help rinse the gravel and I get the same results in the gravel only with more waterfall exit flow.