New pond in sunny Arizona.....Suggestions?

Reaction score
Hi fellow ponders, my name is Frank and I am totally new to ponds and getting ready to build my first one ever. I plan on building about a 10' x 15' pond is the preliminary size for right now. Not sure if I should make it smaller being its my first time. I have cleared the area of loose rocks and outlined the pond-to-be with a garden hose to get an idea if I need to cut it down in size/change the shape of it entirely etc. Any and all advice, help, suggestions will be greatly appreciated since this is my first pond and I want to make it an enjoyable one with your guys knowledge and experiences. I alo intend on making a 3'-4' waterfall in the background of the pond. What do you guys think by looking at the pics? Let me know. Thanks,

y2kdejesus

Attachments

• forum1.jpg
    forum1.jpg
    8.2 KB · Views: 339
  • forum3.jpg
    forum3.jpg
    21.3 KB · Views: 394
  • forum2.jpg
    forum2.jpg
    19.5 KB · Views: 406
Reaction score
When I saw the title I immediately answered, "Plants!" :bowdown:

Floating and anchored ones with a lot of surface area that will shade your water or you'll likely end up with a thick green mess (unless you're constantly dropping chemicals into your water, and who wants that?).

As far starting smaller, I think (maybe) I speak for most (from what I've learned) on this forum when I say: If you build it smaller, you'll only wish you'd built it bigger.:icon_mrgreen:

Good luck! It will make a beautiful addition!

Robyn

A Ponder-ing Newbie
Reaction score
Looking at the pics:

1) How many hours of sun vs. shade will it get there?

2) You may need to move it out a few feet to make room for a 4 foot waterfall!

3) You might think of using wall fountains (they hang on the wall and make it look like water is spitting out decorative holes in the wall!)

4) Put in a main drain! You will NOT regret it!

DrDave

Innovator
Reaction score
Put in a main drain! You will NOT regret it!