New Pond "Milky" Water Issue

Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm fairly new to ponds and pond water so please bare with me. Recently I constructed a new pond (1.2m (l) x 1.2 (w) x 0.8m (d) roughly 250 gallons) from wood with clad on decking panels on the outside with a recommended rubber pond lining on the inside. There are also decking boards on the top of the pond to form a bench around the edges.

I treated the decking boards with ronseal decking stain and filled the pond to begin fishless cycling on the water. We put in a 1000lph pond filter/pump and placed some bacteria in the filter medium to help kick start the process as well as some chemicals to remove chlorine.

The night we completed the pond, we had a heavy rainstorm and i noticed in the morning that some of the stain from the top decking boards had been removed and had probably run into the water. I noticed the water was "milky" or cloudy in color and was not nearly as clear as it was the previous evening.

I was wondering if these symtoms would be down to the paint running into the water or (I have read) could be down to a bacterial spawn?

If it is the paint i'm wondering if I will need to drain and re-fill the water or if the filter will take care of the issue in time?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated

Cheers

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
welcomefromgang4.gif
to our group

There could be two issues, run off from the boards, (take a little stain put it in some water see if it makes the water milky) Or you could have had some run off from the yard. Is your pond higher than the surrounding dirt? i.e. land

Or if you have any rocks around the pond, dirt from them could have washed in. Mine got dirty after the first rain, as the rain rinsed dirt, from the rocks, splash for the dirt, construction dirt, and of course one run off spot I had to fix.

Post some pictures so we can see your pond, it always helps to see.