New Pond, New Forum Writer

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by dpillster, Feb 19, 2012.

  1. dpillster

    dpillster Relaxing in Florida

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Coral, Florida
    Let me start by saying I have never posted to a forum before so if I make a faux pas, please excuse me.

    I just moved to Florida from Illinois where I had an elaborate 2 pond (one was 11' x 25'), stream, waterfall, bog, Aquascape maintenance nightmare. Since I am trying to simplify my life (even though I brought my koi with me) I am building a concrete pond that is adjacent to my pool, that will be covered with screening.

    I am looking for any advice I can get for picking out an external pump and filter system for my new 8' x 12' concrete pond that is 5' deep and covered with pond armour coating. I plan on having a circular waterfall that comes from the middle and will extend 2' - 3' above the waterline.

    I am in the stage shown in the picture and I am in need of making a decision on pump and filter very quickly.

    Appreciate any input!
     

    Attached Files:

    dpillster, Feb 19, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. dpillster

    addy1 water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    33,214
    Likes Received:
    17,834
    Location:
    Frederick, Maryland
    [​IMG]

    Welcome to our group.

    do you want and submersible pump or external, are you going to build your own filter or purchase one? that will be neat having a covered pond, keep those herons from eating sushi
     
    addy1, Feb 19, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. dpillster

    dpillster Relaxing in Florida

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Coral, Florida
    I've had my learning experience with herons already and my parents' next door neighbor just had a different fishing critter -- a family of sea otters -- since we live on the water. So I am excited about having a sfe place for my koi.

    Since my pond has no place to hide a pump and I have no need for a skimmer, I was going to do an external pump. And since I am supposed to be making my life easier now, I was looking at a purchased filter that has a backwash cleaning ability so I am not spending time cleaning filters and such. I have 2 koi that are 18", 10 that are 12", 10 about 6" and 6 babies. What do you think?
     
    dpillster, Feb 19, 2012
    #3
  4. dpillster

    j.w I Love my Goldies

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    24,461
    Likes Received:
    14,188
    Location:
    Arlington, Washington
    [​IMG] dpillster
    Looks like a nice project you have going there. How many koi do you have?
     
    j.w, Feb 19, 2012
    #4
  5. dpillster

    j.w I Love my Goldies

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    24,461
    Likes Received:
    14,188
    Location:
    Arlington, Washington
    Hmmmmmmmmmmmm, I think you may have too many koi for that pond but then I only have goldfish so not really up on the koi. I know the koi will all get huge so eventually you will have almost 30 of them in your pond if not more w/ more babies. Yikes that can make a pretty good load on your filter and seems like you would have to clean often to keep them healthy. Maybe you could just keep your favorites and re-home some others?
     
    j.w, Feb 19, 2012
    #5
  6. dpillster

    Becky Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,244
    Likes Received:
    1,435
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    Hello and welcome from me :wave:
     
    Becky, Feb 20, 2012
    #6
  7. dpillster

    CountryEscape

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    7,144
    Likes Received:
    4,577
    Location:
    near Effingham, Illinois
    Welcome, Dpillster! You'll love this Forum, you chose well. Lots of good advice will be derived from those on here. I agree with JW, probably too many koi, but I'm going to be in the same boat. However, mine are still small, and I will be choosing my favs eventually and selling the others. There is a calculator for how many inches of fish are appropriate for the number of gallons of water. I can't remember how it's figured, but that will give you the info needed to decide if that's too many fish for the size of pond. You're trying to make your life simplier, so may want to reduce number of koi to help make it simpler! Good luck whatever you decide.
    Here's the website that shows the calculator for how many fish per gallon of water. For koi it says 3" to 100 gallons, but I bet there are those on here that would disagree with that. :) I thought it was more like 1" per 100 gallons. http://www.your-garden-ponds-center.com/fish-load-calculator.html
     
    CountryEscape, Feb 20, 2012
    #7
  8. dpillster

    sissy sissy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    31,119
    Likes Received:
    14,179
    Location:
    Axton virginia
    welcome and guessing you are really enjoying the warmer weather year round and will get to enjoy that pond year round .
     
    sissy, Feb 20, 2012
    #8
  9. dpillster

    taherrmann4 Tmann

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    695
    Location:
    Louisville KY
    I use a Sequence external that I have been very happy with. Dodadd on here sells them I believe, if you PM him he could send you a price.
     
    taherrmann4, Feb 28, 2012
    #9
  10. dpillster

    addy1 water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    33,214
    Likes Received:
    17,834
    Location:
    Frederick, Maryland
    My external sequence has been working great too tmann. Very low electricity usage.
     
    addy1, Feb 28, 2012
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.