New Pond Owner (water issue)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello guys, new to this forum and looking for some advice (I am new to pond ownership).

I purchased a house last year and it came along with a pond, I had always planned to keep this from the beginning of the house renovation we have carried out.

The time came a few weeks ago to start on the pond.. the pond was already fully established by the looks already had an external Oase filter. I pumped the pond to a low level last year and it has gradually filled up with rain water, I haven’t cleaned any algae off or any of the dirt that was on the bottom of the pond, I had read that it’s best not to make the pond clean and then fill it up with tap water that contains chlorine.. ANYWAY I digress..

The pond water is not very clear, I purchased a “pond bomb” hoping this would aid in clearing the water but a couple of weeks later this hasn’t made a visual difference. The water doesn’t look green it like murky and dark? You can see about an inch or so into the water then it’s just darkness.. I have added two carp to the pond and I can only see them when they are near enough touching the surface. I have also added some Blagdon Clear pond.

Would really appreciate some advice, I haven’t actually removed the pond filter I ran the water out externally into my garden whilst pumping the handle, again an online guide showed that this was the way to clean it.

Thanks guys, sorry for the long post it’s a pleasure to be part of the community.

I have attached a picture of the pond.
814164FB-D45E-40F6-8D4F-AC42134B3A54.jpeg

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States