New pond planting

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Good evening and thanks for allowing me to post. I am a complete beginner and I have just got to the point of getting plants for the pond. What I would like advise on is in the picture I’ve added to this post your see the moulded pond as planting Troughs what I would like to know do I leave the plant in pot or could I add pond compost to the troughs and plant straight into them.

Attachments

• A68F476E-4169-4A86-8C01-45404B2CD436.jpeg
    A68F476E-4169-4A86-8C01-45404B2CD436.jpeg
    188.2 KB · Views: 33
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
Well, you could do either. What you have going on there is perfectly fine, but.... if you'd like a slightly more 'natural' look, then lose the pot & fill that trough with aquatic planting soil (NOT anything out of your garden or a bag of 'regular' garden soil!) such as this:
and then plant right in that.

Just make sure everything you plant in that fashion is fully hardy to your growing zone, otherwise you'll be looking at pulling & replacing those plants every Spring (with the hardy ones, you will only have to work with then as they overgrow the location & need division)

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
1651015283690.gif
@Graman
Cuz if you have fish and you just put media in those pockets the fish will root around in there and knock it all out. So then I would choose pots but If fishless you are ok either way.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
That plant does not like to be disturbed. id pull it from the pot place it in the trough and add 3/8 " gravel to fill in the cup. mine was slow year one then cranked year two

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom