new pond questions


Joined
Aug 25, 2018
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Country
We just put in a new pond, it is next to our door where you enter our mud room. It is a covered porch and half of it was dirt, so I came up with the great idea to put a pond there, much to my husbands dismay. We dug it down some and them built it up with barn stones. The deepest part is about 3 feet deep,the dimensions are 5x5, and we purchased a auquagarden inpond 5 in 1 from Lowes, we have the filter working. The problem we are having now, is we filled it up with water from the hose, and we have iron in our water, so it is still cloudy, and as it is settling, we have deposits on the bottom. Is this filter going to be able to clear this up, it has been running for almost 3 days. Is there something we can put in the water?, or should it be filled from the house, we have a water softener for the house. Thanks
 

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
9,803
Reaction score
5,615
Location
NW Louisiana -- zone 8b
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
@dcollins Hello and welcome! I can’t help with your question, but would love to see pictures of your pond. And I have to ask, but what are “barn stones?”

Wait, I’m suddenly confused..... Is the pond being filled from a source different from that which feeds your home? It almost sounds like you are talking about 2 separate sources: one with a heavy iron content and one that is filtered. You must have a system built in to your home. If that is the case, then why not go ahead and use the filtered water? Five by five by three feet doesn’t sound that big, and you wouldn’t have to fret about the deposits.
 
Last edited:
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 28, 2013
Messages
7,264
Reaction score
8,196
Location
Northern IL
Welcome! Picture would indeed help. In general MOST ponds will clear as the sediment settles. Most new ponds are full of dust and silt from the building process and the rocks and gravel being dirty. Your pond is still quite new - I would give it more time!
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2012
Messages
7,012
Reaction score
7,122
Location
Water Valley, Alberta
Hardiness Zone
2a
Country
Just keep in mind that salt is bad for freshwater fish and freshwater plants. ;)
Salt is hard on the kidneys of fish, and plants will absorb the components of salt instead of the other minerals they need for survival.
 

sissy

sissy
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
31,728
Reaction score
14,683
Location
Axton virginia
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
Some softners are not connected to all the water running into the house .My hose bibs are plumbed on their own and by pass my whole house filter .Maybe her softner is plumbed that way .
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jun 11, 2012
Messages
7,012
Reaction score
7,122
Location
Water Valley, Alberta
Hardiness Zone
2a
Country
Softeners should not be connected to any water you drink or outside garden taps.
Softened water should only be used for bathing and clothes washing.
 

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
9,803
Reaction score
5,615
Location
NW Louisiana -- zone 8b
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
Softeners should not be connected to any water you drink or outside garden taps.
Softened water should only be used for bathing and clothes washing.
Did not know that! I guess I read wrong because I thought the OP said filtered.
 
Joined
May 21, 2018
Messages
408
Reaction score
331
Country
We just put in a new pond, it is next to our door where you enter our mud room. It is a covered porch and half of it was dirt, so I came up with the great idea to put a pond there, much to my husbands dismay. We dug it down some and them built it up with barn stones. The deepest part is about 3 feet deep,the dimensions are 5x5, and we purchased a auquagarden inpond 5 in 1 from Lowes, we have the filter working. The problem we are having now, is we filled it up with water from the hose, and we have iron in our water, so it is still cloudy, and as it is settling, we have deposits on the bottom. Is this filter going to be able to clear this up, it has been running for almost 3 days. Is there something we can put in the water?, or should it be filled from the house, we have a water softener for the house. Thanks
Welcome to the forum. Let us know if this is correct:
It sounds like you filled the pond with hose water that is supplied from a well not the house. Is that correct?
If that is correct, your pump/filter will not remove the iron (unless you have a sophisticated system).
If this is the case, here is an option:
You can fill your pond with house water but,,,first go to your water softener and turn on the bypass valve which will send out of the tap, whatever the water company delivers to your home. Remember, the water is now 'raw' and will require chlorine/chloramine removal. I use Prime but there are other good water treatments available too. You can use house water with a hose by connecting it to your utility room washbasin and carefully running the hose outdoors.
Anyway, just some thoughts. Hope I helped!
Stephen
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Messages
413
Reaction score
279
Location
Mount Pocono, Pennsylvania
Hardiness Zone
6a
Softeners should not be connected to any water you drink or outside garden taps.
Softened water should only be used for bathing and clothes washing.[/QUOTE
I didn't know that either!
I didn't know that either! I have central water, so I'm not that knowledgeable on the subject. What exactly is in the softener? Is that the tank with salt? Or the one that compensates for acidity with crushed oyster shells and other minerals with names that escape my mind?
Just wondering....
 
Ad

Advertisements

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Moderator
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
34,457
Reaction score
19,321
Location
Frederick, Maryland
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
I had a softener in AZ, water was rock hard. We put bags of salt into it to soften the water.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top