New, small pond and a mess

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello there,

I'm new to the world of ponds. I've dug a small pond [1.7m x 1.4m x 0.6m], and I happily followed the instructions in the pond book I bought. It's got underlay and a decent liner. And then it's here that I think I started making problems for myself. I lined it with upturned turf and gave the ledges a nice layer of soil.

I've planted some plants on the edges and there's some oxygenating plants floating about. There's some frogbit on the way. There's a solar powered aerator too. I'm not planning on having any fish. The pond is for the insects, birds, and frogs.

IMG_20210415_115418.jpg

The pond is in partial shade.

The water hasn't cleared and algae and an ugly scum has formed.

I'm starting to think that there's just too many nutrients and muck in the water, but honestly, I'm just guessing. I'm wondering whether I need to rescue my plants, put them in those plastic mesh tray things, remove the turf and soil, and maybe also invest in a pump/filter.

Before I recklessly charge ahead [again], do you think that's the right direction to go in?

All advice, thought, comments, and guidance are welcome. Thank you very much in advance

Alistair

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Well, lining a pond with sod... that's a new one! What was your thought process when you did that?

I'd say yes - get the grass and (I assume) dirt out, and get a good pump. A filter will help with clearing any floating debris. Eventually things will settle, but it does take time for a pond to find it's balance, so be patient.

And then get some fish... your plants will thank you! A few goldfish would be so pretty in your pond and will definitely help your plants grow!

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Welcome to the forum!