New to backyard ponds and Koi

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Zone 5a -20F to -15F
Country
United States
Hey guys thanks for anyone's input on this thread and any advice I can get from you guys will be great.

So I am new to backyard ponds and when my wife and I moved into our new place we found out it had a little 250 gallon pond in the back. I have pretty much ignored it being back there until this spring when I decided to get into an aquatic hobby. And what not better than having your own pond!

I will now tell you guys about my setup. The pond is a liner that has been dug into the ground already and is about 3 1/2 ft deep. I DID NOT line the bottom with rock as I have read before that it can cause a dead zone and can be impossible to clean. So I just added a few good sized rocks with a plant, which I am planning on getting more. I bought some drift wood and put those in the bottom as well as some marimo algae balls which are pretty neat.

I put all that supplies on the bottom and then the filling began. I filled the pond about 3/4 the way up and called that good. I then added API chlorine and heavy metal neutralizer. My final step was I added a 2 stone aeration system. I have since then bought a new one that is more powerful that blows more oxygen into the pond. I then waited around a day and a half and then I went to my local aquarium store and got my fish.