New to forum and desperate

Reaction score
Hi! I'm new to this forum and desperately seeking help for my pond. I've been ponding for 6 years now and am pretty competent on most aspects of ponding. My pond has koi, goldfish and some green frogs, with the occasional bullfrog that gets relocated to a wild pond several miles away. My question is about GREAT BLUE HERONS using my pond as a buffet. This has been going on for 2-3 years now. I've used strands of fishing line around the perimeter (it figured out how to get through them). I've added vertical lines to the fishing lines (ditto on getting through). I've used strands of twine instead of fishing line (ditto on getting through, and now the pond is starting to look like S**T). I've made a fence of bird netting and heavier deer netting, with all possible entry points tied closed. (Then it flew in and landed on the 1'wide ledge that was exposed). I covered the top of the pond with more deer netting, tied all possible entry points and now the pond really really looked terrible. My husband and I took it all down and discovered how nice the pond looked without the fortress built around it, so we decided to try the blue heron decoy. I went out and faithfully moved the decoy around every day, sometimes twice a day. It worked for about 2 weeks, and today, the heron was feeding IN my pond while the decoy was cheering it on. We're back to building a fence around the pond again, but before we do, DOES ANYONE HAVE ANY IDEAS OR SUGGESTIONS THAT MIGHT WORK TO GET RID OF A HERON? I'm at my wits' end with this thing. Any help would be GREATLY APPRECIATED!!!! (Sorry about all the caps and exclamation marks--I'm that desperate)
Thanks,
Chris

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Reaction score
YOU CANNOT USE A DECOY THIS TIME OF YEAR... IT IS MATING SEASON...THE DECOY WILL DRAW IN PERSPECTIVE MATES!!! remington helps anytime..LOL

Reaction score