New to ponding: Pump and concrete questions

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello all,

Looking for some general help on some questions. We are looking to restore a pond that was buried for we do not even know how long. I dug out all of the dirt and pea gravel that was in the pond. When I dug it out I noticed a few spots where the concrete was not really there any more. I attached a picture on this. Should I just reconcrete that portion? It is approximately 1' by 1.5'. After fixing that I am not entirely sure what pump/filter I may need. I have attached another picture that shows some of the PVC pipes, where I believe the pump would go. It looks like the pump sits outside of the pond as the piping starts at the bottom of the pond and then goes through the concrete to the outside of the pond.

I am very new to this, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Nick
Nick
IMG_0286.jpg
IMG_0287.jpg

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5a
Country
United States
Is there another pond nearby? How much gravel did you dig out (how deep was it)? Can you post more photos that show the entire area from a few angles?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Is there another pond nearby? How much gravel did you dig out (how deep was it)? Can you post more photos that show the entire area from a few angles?
Hello Phaewryn,

Please see the below pictures. The deepest part of the pond is a little deeper than 2.5'. I have three trash cans of dirt along with two decent sized piles of pea gravel. The pond is approximately 15' long and about 2-2.5' deep and 3' deep.
IMG_0288.jpg

IMG_0289.jpg
IMG_0290.jpg
IMG_0291.jpg

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5a
Country
United States