New to ponds - Need Pump

Reaction score
I'm new to the pond world. I've been trying to revive a pond that was put in by the previous owner of the house. I built my own filter (may need to redesign it) and just have a cheap sump pump to run it.

Right now, I am looking to get a more efficient pump for the pond. I think the pond is around 450-500 gallons (roughly 5ft x 6ft x 2ft deep). I have no idea what to get or what to look for. I'm looking for a little advice and someone to point me in the right direction.

Reaction score
Any of the Laguna Maxflo pumps are great, just pick the size you need. Turn over rate of 2X per hour after subtracting head pressure loss. Ebay is a good source for bargins.

Reaction score
Thank you. Thats what I was looking at. So if the pond is around 450 gallons and the filter is about 1.5 feet above the surface, would a maxflo 900 be the pump I want?

Reaction score
I would say the 900, however I usually end up wishing I had gone one size bigger. Your call but maybe someone else that has a setup similar to yours will chime in. I use 2 Laguna Max-flos, a 2900 for my skimmer and a 4200 for the bottom in a 2500 gal pond.

Model Description, Max Flow, Max Head
Watts

PT-340 Max-Flo 600 600 GPH 5'
32 watts

PT-342 Max-Flo 900 900 GPH 6' 4"
65 watts

PT-344 Max-Flo 1500 1500 GPH 13' 5"
100 watts

PT-346 Max-Flo 2000 2000 GPH 12' 2"
100 watts

PT-348 Max-Flo 2400 2400 GPH 12' 2"
100 watts

PT-350 Max-Flo 2900 2900 GPH 14' 9"
130 watts

PT-352 Max-Flo 4200 4200 GPH 14' 9"
160 watts

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States