New to Ponds, Pump and Filter Questions

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi Everyone,

I just moved to a new townhouse which has a 300 gallon pond in the front entrance courtyard. I'm totally new to all of this and have been doing research, but can't find specific problems to the pump and filter that connects to the fountain.

It definitely seems that there is not enough water flow going from the pump and filter to the fountain. The water at the opposite end of the pond looks still.

Before messing with anything I got familiar with testing the water and checking for problems. High Range pH is at 7.4, Ammonia is at .25ppm, and Nitrate is at a little under 40ppm. It has been pretty steady at those levels for a few weeks and the fish seem to be fine.

The pump and filter are in a box setup and is a pain in the butt to take out without spilling junk into the water while taking it out to clean.

What I am trying to do is increase the water flow through the fountain as well as find out if there are other setups besides this big cumbersome box setup I can use. I don't mind buying a new one if it isn't too much.

The current pump is a Beckett M450GPH and there are several filters on top of it inside the box. Also, there are a lot of connecting points between the pump and the fountain pipe. I would like to know the cleanest way to connect them.

I've attached some pictures, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Rick

Attachments

• Pond.jpg
    Pond.jpg
    263.7 KB · Views: 347
  • Pond 2.jpg
    Pond 2.jpg
    253.7 KB · Views: 316
  • Pump and Filter Box.jpg
    Pump and Filter Box.jpg
    157.3 KB · Views: 318
  • Box and Pipe.jpg
    Box and Pipe.jpg
    151.4 KB · Views: 335
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
I'm not a pump expert, so I'll leave that to others to reply. Just wanted to say welcome to the GPF! We hear from lots of people like you who bought a house and got a pond as a bonus!

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country