New Water Lilies

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi everyone! I’m new to the whole water gardening experience so I need all the help I can get! I bought a water lily early in the summer and it is thriving in my above ground water garden. I noticed two buds about six days ago but only one has bloomed so far. The non bloomer is down in the water while the bloomers stem is about four inches above. Is this normal? The lily is a hardy lily though I don’t know the name. I’ve heard that it isn’t unusual for the first bloom on a plant not to open. It looks like it’s going to bloom but is partially in the water. Any thoughts or advice? Here’s a photo of the lilies.

Attachments

• 6CFF4CF4-323B-4ABC-BBE6-A88A19EBEEBC.jpeg
    6CFF4CF4-323B-4ABC-BBE6-A88A19EBEEBC.jpeg
    114.3 KB · Views: 148
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Welcome to the GPF! Nice name - haha!

Lilies are pretty much like any other plant - anything is possible when it comes to blooms. Different sizes, heights, how long they last... lots of variations are possible. I had two blooms that never even made it OUT of the water this year - fully bloomed under the water. That was a first for me!

Reaction score
Country
United States
Welcome to the GPF! Nice name - haha!

Lilies are pretty much like any other plant - anything is possible when it comes to blooms. Different sizes, heights, how long they last... lots of variations are possible. I had two blooms that never even made it OUT of the water this year - fully bloomed under the water. That was a first for me!

LOL I actually saw one of your posts and thought oh no, I’ve stolen someone else’s user name! Thanks for the info. it’s amazing that you had two that bloomed under water, here’s hoping mine does something. The guy that I bought them from said they would probably not bloom again until spring so I’m happy with any blooms. :) I just got excited when I saw two. (I’ve been crazy about water lilies since I was a child!)

addy1